Boil, Boil, Toil and Trouble

Jasper and Sawyer both love food that has been “spiralized.”

If you’re not up on the latest food crazes, this is when you use a special peeler that turns foods into long twists that resemble spaghetti. We do zucchini and carrot “noodles” often, and I’ve recently tried adding a few new foods to our list.

Last week, I saw spiralized beets at Stop & Shop. Their beautiful purple/red color caught my eye, and I was sure that Sawyer would gobble them up.

“How do you cook them?” I questioned Patrick, who grew up eating more than the carrots and peas that frequented my plate as a kid.

“Just saute them for a bit,” he suggested.

They were still raw.

So, I boiled them for a bit. The water in the pot turned a shocking color of red, and my English teacher’s brain chuckled while I quoted MacBeth.

The boils loved the potion and gobbled every bite.

Please stop and leave a comment! I love knowing who stopped by, and what your thoughts are!

