Balls

Right now, Jasper’s favorite food is a meatball sub.

Fortunately, he’s not too picky about the meatballs, the bread, or the sauce. I usually throw it together on a piece of wheat bread with some Stop & Shop bottled organic tomato sauce.

I make huge batches of meatballs at a time, and freeze them in family size portions. This way, if I ever forget to thaw something, or we’re running short on time, I can just grab a bag from the freezer and heat them up.

Since we started our health journey, I stopped eating store made meatballs, and returned to the recipe that my mother taught me when I was in middle school.

 

Maura’s Meatballs

Preheat oven to 350

Line Sheets with Foil

 

2lbs of ground beef (I like 80/20 Lilac Hedge)

1lb of ground turkey

 

2 eggs

½- 3/4c of A1 or BBQ sauce

1/4c milk (sometimes I swap this out for cheddar, just to keep things exciting)

1/4c parmesan cheese

1T garlic

2T onion powder

1t salt

2T Italian Seasoning

½ c breadcrumbs (my mom likes Italian breadcrumbs- I like Panco)

 

I start with the wet ingredients, and mix them all together. If your family likes onions, adding a bit of shaved onion using the cheese shaver is good, but Sawyer’s tummy doesn’t tolerate them. Then, I add in the dry ingredients and use a fork to stir them up.

Next, I add in the ground beef and turkey. I use my hands to mix them up, and then make the meatballs. My dad likes to make meatballs the size of baseballs, but I keep mine closer to golf ball sized. I throw them on pans that have been lined with foil, making sure that the balls don’t touch one another. (Patrick is laughing at the amount of times that I said “balls.” Because really, he is still a 7th grader at heart.)

I set the timer for 20 minutes, and flip them halfway through. After the second 20 minutes, I pull them out and let them rest for a few minutes before serving them up.

Please stop and leave a comment! I love knowing who stopped by, and what your thoughts are!

