The Pros and Cons of Breastfeeding a 6 Month Old

It’s been six months of being Sawyer’s sole provider of nutrients.

This is a role that’s filled with a number of perks:

  • Sawyer is convinced that I’m the best person on Earth
  • I get to eat an extra 500+ calories a day (his caloric intake is circling around 700 calories, at this point)
  • Our time together is precious and treasured- I’m the only one who can feed him
  • It is next to free (with daycare costs soaring, this counts for a lot.)

 

But after 6 months, the cons to breastfeeding are growing

  • washing pumping supplies… all. the. time.
  • remembering to bring pumping supplies with me when I leave the house for extended time and finding a place to pump when I’m out and about
  • mastitis– I live in fear that this could come back.
  • remembering to bring and set up bottles every day for daycare
  • giving up an hour of my time during the workday to pump, meaning that I stay an hour later each day to get caught up
  • hormones (with great side effects like hair loss…)
  • being the only one who can feed him when he feels fussy or is up… at 3 am (and 4,5,6 am…)

 

I’m not sure how much longer I’m going to be able to continue to make the stuff at the top of this list outweigh the stuff at the bottom.

I love being able to provide my baby with healthy food, but the struggle is growing by the day. At this rate, there won’t be any hair left on my head and the 18lb baby is starting to eat more food than I can give him. (This kids a rolly-polly chunker.)

We start introducing foods tomorrow. Cross you fingers for me!

 

Please stop and leave a comment! I love knowing who stopped by, and what your thoughts are!

