Why Stay At Home Moms Are Great Sprinters

 

Sweat trickles down my back, and my heart beat grows louder. Sneakers echo on the pavement, skidding when they hit sand. My heart beat is steady, but I can feel my temperature rising and my patience growing thin. Exhausted, the 15 pounds of baby tied to my side is wearing me down. I glance at my phone for the time.

12:52.

There are 38 minutes left until the end of the marathon.

I take a deep breath, and push myself to keep going. I toss the ball, and watch as Jasper lets it roll away, his interest gone.

“Want to make an obstacle course?” I plead with Jasper, making the chalk outlines while carefully balancing the baby on my hip.

“NO!! I don’t WANT to!!” he screams.

I sigh, wipe the sweat from my brow and dig for another activity, reminding myself that Jasper is an independent, tired toddler and that correcting his language will result in a tantrum.

As a school teacher, I am lucky enough to be able to strike an unusually appealing balance as a working mom and a stay at home mom. This summer, I realized why SAHMs turn to protein shakes and kale.

Every day at home with two kids (or more?!) is like running a marathon.

From the moment Patrick leaves, I am trying to do at least three things at once; keep the toddler happy, feed and care for an infant, maintain the house, make phone calls, answer email, shop for our family, work on grad school classes, feed everyone and maybe even take care of myself.

It is a lot of work, and I always feel like someone is being shortchanged.

Until nap time.

At 1:30, if I’ve played my cards right and gotten enough exercise in, my very active toddler will take a nap. Sawyer is great about taking a nap right around 2:00, and he’s usually happy to sit quietly until then.

So, every day, I am racing to 1:30, when we can all just… breathe. Some days, it is all that I can do not to count the minutes. I run around from 7-1:30, sweating, pleading, laughing and crying with my toddler.

Then, finally, we all get to go to our own cool corners of the house and sleep, exhausted from the day’s activities.

Don’t get me wrong- working moms don’t have it any easier. Well, except for peeing. At least they get to pee alone.

 

One thought on “Why Stay At Home Moms Are Great Sprinters

  1. Oh Mama. I remember these days well. As I remember them, I’m smiling and wondering when my 2 kids are going to roll out of bed and ask for breakfast. Kudos to you for seeing all that you are doing everyday. Hang in there. It sounds like you are doing great!

    Like

Please stop and leave a comment! I love knowing who stopped by, and what your thoughts are!

