Losing (ok, Gaining) Weight After Baby #2

This time, I did a really great job of eating well and exercising while I was pregnant.

I was at the gym 3 days before I went into labor, and I only put on a total of 25 pounds. I was really proud of the fact that 2 weeks after I delivered Sawyer, I was only 6 pounds away from my pre-pregnancy weight.

Then, I got mastitis. I couldn’t get off the couch for a week. Then, I got it AGAIN. The antibiotics I was on did not mix well with food- for 2 hours before or after- so I wasn’t able to feed Sawyer and maintain a regular blood sugar. (Confession: I was hangry for 10 days.)

Next, Jasper caught an awful case of strep throat, and I was bound to the living room for another 7 days. The following Tuesday, he came down with a virus. (Seriously, can we get a break?!)

Desperate, I turned to my old friends of wine, cookies and ice cream. So, I’ve put on 5 pounds.

I’m losing my mind. I honestly thought that I was set up to succeed this time around, and that I’d be back to my old self (or better!) by the time I returned to work when Sawyer is 12 weeks old.

It’s not looking so good.

Patrick and I worked out a new schedule, so I’m going to be able to get to the gym twice a week. Hopefully, Jasper, Sawyer and I will be in good health next week, and we’ll be able to walk around the block every day, and my blood sugar will return to normal.

I keep trying to wear my old yoga pants, but let’s be honest- it’s not pretty. If you see me at Stop & Shop, loading my cart with kale and kefir, please don’t comment on my muffin top.

 

 

Please stop and leave a comment! I love knowing who stopped by, and what your thoughts are!

