Uh-oh, I Might Be a Millennial.

“Smooties are too much work. I don’t have time for them in the morning,” I rolled my eyes at one of the middle aged guys at the gym.

“What? Then what do you do for breakfast? Cereal?” he asked, a little horrified that I might be a gluten-eater.

“No… That is way too much to effort. I eat a yogurt or bar,” I said, putting down the kettle bells.

That was when he explained to me that I’m a millennial. Like most others born in the 80’s, being lumped in with these youngsters causes megreat frusteration, and I can usually just shake off the generalization.

Not that day.

Apparently, I am not alone in my belief that cereal is too much work in the morning. I mean, you can’t pack fruit, granola and milk in one container and easily eat it while working. I need something that I can prepare the night before and eat infront of my morning emails.

Newsflash: that makes me a millennial. The New York Times reports that 40% of the generation agrees with me- there is too much to clean up after eating, and the effort required to eat cereal isn’t worth it.

Somehow, this must correlate with the desire to eat fewer carbs, more “real” food that isn’t over processessed and provides better nutrition. Like me, many other millennials ate reading labels and are deterred by the amount of processed ingredients and chemicals are in cereal.

I honestly participated in a conversation last week about how Captain Crunch has fewer processed ingredients and less sugar than some Kashi cereals, and debated the nutritional content of chickpea pasta with my husband.

Patrick and I might be obsessed with food. But at least we have friends who are, too!

Yet, when I talk to many adults who are a few years older than I, they aren’t nearly as obsessed with labels as my peers. My mom, who is a well educated and intelligent person, doesn’t fully understand the difference between enriched wheat flour and whole wheat flour. This isn’t something that I was taught in school, and only recently have I started to try to stick to sprouted wheat when shopping. Types of wheat and how they are processed don’t even register as important to my mom. Paradoxically, I spend hours closely reading labels and analyzing the contents of a package.

What has created this huge gap? One generation that loyally eats cereal, and the next  is scrutinizing the type of grains they consume, while confessing to be too lazy to wash a bowl and spoon in the morning.

Yikes. It’s 8am and I’m starving. I’m going to go grab a whey protein bar.

 

Please stop and leave a comment! I love knowing who stopped by, and what your thoughts are!

