All He Wanted…

Jasper has been talking about his birthday for the last month, and would proudly announce each night, “My birthday is soon! Pops had his birthday, now it is my birthday!”

We didn’t have a big party planned- I’m a few short weeks away from giving birth, and the idea of planning, coordinating and hosting a party while preparing (and possibly delivering!) baby #2 just wasn’t in the cards.

“What would you like for your birthday?” I asked.

“A PAW PATROL CAKE!” Jasper responded each time I asked with confidence.

Forced by the will of my toddler, I turned to my enemy- Pinterest- and paged through the Paw Patrol Cakes. (If you’re not familiar with Paw Patrol, it is a show on Nickelodeon with puppies who save lives through their specialties, like police work, recycling abilities and firefighting skills.) Jasper picked out a bone shaped cake, and insisted that this was all that he wanted.

I picked up a few gifts, and decorations for the big day. Jasper insisted (with the stubbornness that only a toddler could manage) that he would help me make the cake.

Together, we mixed 6 boxes of blue and chocolate cake mix, which I then carefully sculpted into the bone.

paw patrol make

It was a fairly close imitation, and Jasper couldn’t have been happier. All of his grandparents were there, along with my brother, some cousins and kids from the cul-de-sac. I am so glad that this year, I was able to help fulfill my kid’s deepest wish.

Please stop and leave a comment! I love knowing who stopped by, and what your thoughts are!

