Say “YES” to the Squash

“Can I have more smoothie?” Jasper begged, his faced buried as he licked the bowl, his face and hands coated in orange goo.

“Of course!” I said, spooning more from the pot into his bowl.

This was no smoothie, but I certainly didn’t intend to argue with my toddler about semantics. After all, it had spent a lot of time in the blender, and it was brightly colored deliciousness.

My kid was demanding more squash bisque.

Even Patrick, a butternut squash resister, loved it! I combined a few recipes, but here is what I ended up doing;

Roast 3 butternut squash halves (peeled) in the oven at 350 for 1 hour. Turn off the oven, and let them hang out while the rest is prepared.

I rough chopped 1 onion and 5 carrots, then cooked them in a touch of oil in a giant pan on the stove until they softened.

Next, I added 1 garlic clove and 1-2 tablespoons of freshly shredded ginger to the pan, with 4 tablespoons of butter. (The first time, I added some water, but it didn’t really need it, so I skipped it the second time around)

I threw the squash in the pot, and let them cook for 15 minutes before tossing all of the contents in the blender.

I added salt and pepper to taste, and then 2 tablespoons of brown sugar, and let it simmer for a bit before I ran it through the blender again, since we don’t have an emulsifier. We all loved it- the second time I made it, Jasper wouldn’t let me put it back into the pot to simmer without tasting a bowl! At 7pm, I usually would have said no, but when your toddler demands a serving of vegetables, you say yes!

 

soup 1

 

 

4 thoughts on “Say “YES” to the Squash

Please stop and leave a comment! I love knowing who stopped by, and what your thoughts are!

