How Tom Brady Help Me Realize That I’m an Addict…

I’m not proud of it, but I’m absolutely an addict.

I honestly love Diet Coke.

Image result for addicted to diet coke

I’m not sure exactly what it is, or why it is, but I crave this stuff the way that people talk about craving cigarettes. Just the “swish, crack, fizz” of opening a can gives me a high. (Honestly.)

It’s bad.

So when I read an article about how awful Diet Coke can be, I decided to cut back to one a week.

I was doing great, and then I read Tom Brady’s article about how there isn’t anything real in Frosted Flakes or Diet Coke, but that advertising has convinced us that they’re food instead of poison. I read some more labels.

I tried to quit.

And then, like any addict, I felt the pull of my cravings driving me to the brink. Some people might think that I’m exaggerating, but I honestly caught myself daydreaming about the case of soda sitting in my closet.

And that’s when Patrick said the only thing  that could possibly make me give up this delicious, fizzy goodness. “If I quit cigarettes, you can quit Diet Coke.”

Crap. 

Nearly a decade ago, Patrick quit cigarettes for the last time. They’re expensive, they are filled with toxins and I was being exposed to his second hand smoke.(Again, maybe I’m being a bit dramatic here, but Diet Coke’s filled with tons of bad stuff- it can take the paint off of cars! While not expensive, they’re certainly not a good investment.)Patrick loved me enough to kick his habit… Now I need to kick mine.

Being pregnant, and a food-conscious mom, I try really hard to feed my family healthy foods. Consuming multiple cans of chemicals per day isn’t going to help this kid grow up healthy, and allowing them in my house isn’t going to help my kids make good choices moving forward.

So… I’m quitting. For good.

 

 

 

One thought on “How Tom Brady Help Me Realize That I’m an Addict…

Please stop and leave a comment! I love knowing who stopped by, and what your thoughts are!

