800 Reasons Why Stroller Shopping is Worse Than Car Shopping

When Patrick and I did a quick assessment of our baby stuff last week, it became evident that we were going to need to get some more “stuff” to help us when we’re parents of two. If you know us, you know that we try really hard to avoid buying too many “things,” but it was clear that we aren’t going to be able to do without a bigger car, bottles and… a double stroller.

The minivan took a couple of days to decide on, as I was really hoping that an SUV would be able to do the job. I didn’t want to get a van; I loved my old Honda. But to be totally honest, in the end, it wasn’t really a tough decision, and the minivan has already proven to be a solid investment.

Finding the right double stroller has been a veritable nightmare.

Blogs and websites have offered me little help; I’m looking for a tandem stroller (translation: one kid behind the other) that will fit through doorways, quickly and easily fold into my car and doesn’t weigh a ton. I want one that’s going to last Jasper into age 4, so that I can get a couple of years out of it.

You’d think I could just type those terms into a search, and see some options.

Wrong!

At our most recent Story Land visit, I scrutinized other parents’ strollers, searching for one that fit the bill. That’s when I saw the Phil & Ted.

It was love at first sight.

Image result for phil and ted stroller

The parents using the stroller gave it rave reviews, so I went home and did some research. It turns out that there are a zillion different kinds of Phil & Ted’s, and that despite their HEFTY price tag ($700!!!) their reviews aren’t 100% positive.

Image result for phil and ted stroller options

So, I did what any Mom would do- I turned to facebook.

Some awesome Moms in the Newcomers’ Club volunteered to let me try theirs out for a few days, and some searches through Craigslist showed some more reasonably priced options.

I’m still not sure what we’re going to do. Last night, someone told me that I don’ t even need a double stroller, that Jasper will be walking on his own in a year. (Really?! Because that’d really be great…) I’m honestly considering opening up a store where people can come in and demo strollers. I’m sure I could do it better than Babies R’ Us.

Please stop and leave a comment! I love knowing who stopped by, and what your thoughts are!

