Housebreaking a Toddler?

Like all parents, we are pretty eager to get our kid housebroken. Diapers are expensive. And let’s be honest; changing a diaper isn’t anyone’s favorite task.

Patrick and I, first time parents, have no idea about how to go about this whole business of “potty training.” Our dog came to us mostly housebroken, and the internet is a murky swamp of different ways to train a toddler.

The Pamper’s Website suggests that if your kid exhibits two of these signs, they are ready to start:

  • Stays dry for at least two hours.
  • Is dry after a nap.
  • Is uncomfortable in soiled diapers.
  • Shows increased interest in the bathroom.
  • Asks to use the toilet or potty chair.
  • Has regular and predictable bowel movements.
  • Asks to wear Big Kid or “grown up” underwear.
  • Uses words or body language when he or she needs to go.
  • Follows simple verbal directions.
  • Walks to and from the bathroom, helps undress his/herself.

Our kid exhibits about half of these sporadically throughout the day, but I’m not rushing to the bookstore to buy a book on potty training. I feel like asking for only 2/10 of these signs is a ploy to get parents to rush to the store to buy Pull-Ups.

pull ups
At $.33 each, I can’t wait to be done with diapers.

Plus, my kid pees a lot. 

I have reason to believe that this is directly related to his intake, which is considerable. My kid doesn’t drink milk, due to an allergy. He drinks a mixture of 90% water and 10% sugar free juice. (He’ll drink almond milk at daycare, but I can’t even get chocolate milk into him at home.) He drinks about 15 ounces during the first hour of the day.

That means his diaper is full and bloated by 7:30. How many trips to the bathroom would that have been?! (He pees about 2 ounces at a time.)

My daycare provider has assured me that if I don’t figure out when Jasper’s ready to be potty trained, she’ll tell me. And she has issued numerous warnings about the consequences of pushing him to the potty to soon.

Still, what about all of this liquid intake? Do I try to cut him back? When I take him to Target with me, how many times are we going to have to go to the bathroom? What about that car ride to school- he’ll never make it!

Diaper’s aren’t looking like the enemy, these days…

Please stop and leave a comment! I love knowing who stopped by, and what your thoughts are!

