A Vegetarian Meal that is Worth Making

A few weeks ago, my dad made us some really awesome zucchini boats. Everybody loved them, including my toddler, who is occasionally wary of eating green stuff. I made them last week and was shocked by how easy, tasty and nutritious they were. How often does that happen?!

Pops’ Zucchini Boats

3 zucchini

1 tub of hummus (I used the tomato basil one, here, but Wegman’s carmelized onion is great, too)

1 large onion

olive oil

2T sugar

Parmesan to taste

Scoop out seed of 3 zucchini, and then drizzle lightly with olive oil. Then, broil them in the oven for 10 minutes.

image

While those are broiling, I chop the onion finely and then caramelized it in a small pan with a bit of olive oil and Splenda.

Once the zucchini is done, I heat the oven to 350 degrees. I fill the the boats with hummus, and then top them generously with the onions and cheese. Then, they go back in the oven for 45 minutes.

They were soooo good….

image

Please stop and leave a comment! I love knowing who stopped by, and what your thoughts are!

