A Place Forgotten

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We slowly pushed the handle, opening up the heavy white door, and memories from my childhood flooded back.

The bell on the train sounded with joy; children giggled as they cluncked balls down the wooden tracks. I stood in the doorway, frozen in my memories, while our toddler rushed forward.

The Children’s Discovery Museum in Acton has remained unchanged since my visit in the early 1980’s. As Jasper splashed in the water table, steered the ship and filled the train engine with coal, my mind kept returning to my brother working the same levers 25 years ago. Jasper’s laugh echoed throughout the morning, and Patrick and I smiled at our decision to take our tot to the the museum on a rainy day.

There were dozens of different stations in the main house to explore, all targeted at toddlers. All of the science discovery stations were engaging (Patrick’s favorite was the magnets) but were better suited for kids a bit older than Jasper.

By eleven o’clock, we were all exhausted from exploring and were ready to head home. As I pulled out of the parking lot, I smiled back at Jasper.

“What was your favorite part?” I asked.

“THE CHOO- CHOO TRAIN!!!” He shouted at the top of his lungs.

With a glance back in the mirror, I smiled again at Jasper, again thinking of my brother, shouting the same line dozens of years before.

“Of course,” I grinned.

One thought on “A Place Forgotten

  1. It is amazing what memories come back to us when re revisit a place from our past…especially when these things are seen by a new child experiencing for the first time what we experienced long ago.

    Like

Please stop and leave a comment! I love knowing who stopped by, and what your thoughts are!

