Its Dirty, and My Whole Family Loves It.

image

Whenever my family is going to have a couple of busy days in a row, or plan on hosting a picky eater for dinner, my standby is always the same: dirty rice. This recipe is one that has evolved throughout my years in the kitchen, but has always remained a strong favorite.

Ingredients:

Andoulle Sausage

Italian ground sausage

3 cups of rice (I prefer brown)

1 large green pepper

1 large yellow onion

2 cloves of garlic (I prefer the frozen cubes- they’re so easy!)

1 16oz can of diced tomatoes

2 8oz cans of black beans

Salt, pepper and cayenne to taste. (As mentioned in Foul Balls, my boys can’t stand cayenne, so I usually leave it out. But I think it adds a subtle kick).

Goat cheese for toppings

Preparation

I start by cooking the rice. While that’s going, I cook the andoulle sausage in a fry pan until all of the sides are brown. Then, I chop the sausage into toddler-friendly bites. I dump these in with the sausage and rice into the crock pot.

Then, I brown the Italian Sausage in the fry pan, and chop up the pepper and onion. I drain the beans and tomatoes, and then add them all into the rice mixture. Once browned, I add the sausage and then stir in the spices.

I stir it all up in the crock pot and its ready to sit on low for hours until we’re ready to eat it. Honestly, I usually throw the crock pot back in the fridge and turn it on in the morning before work. This recipe makes about 8 servings, so we usually have plenty of leftovers. I just leave them in the pot, and put it in the fridge after the first dinner. When I get home, around 4, I throw it back on the second night and stir it up pretty good. It is super easy, and always a crowd pleaser.

Please stop and leave a comment! I love knowing who stopped by, and what your thoughts are!

