opposite: (adj) diametrically different; of a contrary kind

Yesterday, I had a ton of housework to catch up on. The dishes were pilling up in the sink, the dishwasher was full of clean dishes, there were toys all over the playroom and there were two (ok- three) loads of laundry to be put away. Jasper was out of clean pants- I couldn’t delay sorting it any longer.

Jasper is usually pretty good about helping me sort the laundry for at least 3 minutes, so I started there. As I was hanging Patrick’s shirts in the closet, I noticed a deafening silence echoing through our house. I poked my head back out of the closet, and discovered that Jasper was no longer using the hamper to create a fort. He was missing.

I panicked. The last time that the house was that quiet, Jasper had coated my bathroom in a layer of diaper cream.  I didn’t have time to add cleaning up a toddler sized mess (for non-parents, translation: HUGE) to my to-do list. I dashed through the house, searching for a grinning toddler, hoping for the best but fearing the worst.

Jasper was no where to be found. My heart racing, I took a deep breath and listened.

“Up and down… back and forth… dry and wet….”

I opened the door to his room, and found Jasper sitting, with his winter boots on, in the reading chair. He had opened the I Know My Opposites book and was reading it to himself, pointing at the pictures and narrating the story.

My English teacher’s heart soared.

Please stop and leave a comment! I love knowing who stopped by, and what your thoughts are!

