With so much to be thankful for…

It has been a wonderful year for us; we have so much to be thankful for. This is a list of my top ten.

 

 

 

In no particular order, I am thankful for…

1. The joy that Jasper shares with us each day. He is just plain happy. Jasper sleeps through the night, eats a balanced diet, is fearless, and loves to laugh. He enjoys daycare, has lots of friends, and shows me something new every day. When I read him books at night he cuddles into the crook of my arm and I know that all is right in the world.

2. Family dinners. I love having dinner each night in Westborough with Patrick and Jasper, while we share the highs and lows of our days. The connection and rapport that we build each night is something that I treasure. I also enjoy family dinners at my parents’ house, where we can connect with my family. I love watching Jasper enjoy his grandparents… even if my dad can’t seem to tell Jasper no.

3. My parents generosity. Their house on Attitash holds many a treasured memory, and I look forward to taking advantage of the house for years to come. I look forward to visiting StoryLand with them, and teaching Jasper how to ski in the backyard. When our heat doesn’t work, I am grateful  that I can pop over with a tired toddler for dinner without warning. My parents are kind enough to share their house, home and hearts with us.

4. I work with a group of people who I get to call friends. They put kids first, work hard to support me, and challenge me to be a better person and teacher. I get to be a part of a team that works together, to help teach kids. They enrich my life.

5. Nights out. Patrick and I are working hard to carve out a night or two a month that is just about us as a couple. With a toddler, this isn’t always easy, and I am often too tired from a day of teaching and such to converse at night after Jasper is in bed. I treasure the stolen hour out here and there when the two of us get to take a moment to just enjoy each other.

6. We are healthy. It seems cliche, but really, it is the foundation of everything. It is comforting to look at my family and know that we are all healthy.

7. Our new house. There is room for us to spread out, grow, and live. It is everything we could have hoped for. Plus, there is a kid exactly Jaspers age right across the street. The two boys will get to grown up together- something I didn’t  put on my list for a dream house, but somehow managed to find.

8. Patrick got to hunt with his parents this year. This was a tremendous part of his life growing up, and I am so grateful that he and his parents were able to share this again. He was able to see both of his siblings this November, for the first time in a long time.  All of his extended family has been nothing but friendly and kind with Jasper. We are so lucky to have them.

9. My reduced commute. I get an extra hour each week to spend with Jasper, and am no longer stressed out due to the awful traffic on 290. A 15 minute commute is pretty wonderful.

9 and 1/2. Patrick’s reduced commute. This summer, we had breakfast, lunch and dinner together. He has three turns from our driveway to get to the office; it takes him three minutes. He can be home in a snap and has been gracious about helping with chores during the mornings.

10. We are a happy little family. Although finances have been a bit tighter this year, and we have had some big decisions and adjustments to make, I have a husband who loves and supports me. Each day, I smile and thank the powers that be that I get to have a life filled with so much love and support.

 

 

Please stop and leave a comment! I love knowing who stopped by, and what your thoughts are!

