Advice to my Formerly Pregnant Self About How to Get Through It

This time around, I’m handling this getting ready for the baby thing a bit differently, and there are some things that I wish I could go back and tell me about.

1.Get the laundry done as soon as possible. The first time around, I didn’t really stress out about washing baby clothes ahead of time. “Hey, I’ll have time!” I naively thought. But really, when you’re huge and exhausted, the laundry becomes a real burden. Plus, once there’s another person in the house, the amount of laundry increases exponentially. 

2. People love to share their opinions, and assume that you have them, too. Just let them speak. When we were expecting Jasper, I would patiently explain my perspective to people, citing the research that I had done and justifying my own perspective. Now, my strategy is to get out of the conversation as quickly as possible. Hint: People don’t really care what you want to do. They just want you to agree with them. 

3. Treasure naps. Consistent sleep is years away. Remember what it feels like to be well rested, and savor it. 

4. Skip the nuggets. When we first brought Jasper home, we stocked up on easy-to make meals like frozen pizza and chicken nuggets. They left me hungry, tired and feeling gross. There are tons of fast and healthy options that are easier for my system to handle- like a ham peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Just keeping a stocked freezer and cooking as much as possible is setting our family up for success. 

5. Exercise as much as possible. People often tell pregnant women to relax, but I’ve found that the more I do the better I feel. This mindset was really helpful to return to after first bringing home our bundle of joy.

Please stop and leave a comment! I love knowing who stopped by, and what your thoughts are!